Many churches across Australia have joined the #KidsOffNaurua movement.

A meeting of Social Justice Teams from various churches, at which Morialta was represented, was held at the Synod Office on Thursday 25th October to
co-ordinate a response from the UCA. After reflection and discussion with our Minister and Church Council, SJMMT has decided take part in the movement. 

What can we do and what will be happening?
Sign a petition to the Government
There will be copies of a petition on tables in the Hall and Foyer for you to sign this morning if you wish. The petition asks the Government to bring all people held in off-shore detention to Australia for processing.

  1. Send an email to your local member of Federal Parliament – some dot points to help you compose your email can be found on the reverse side.
  1. Ringing Church Bells
    Churches are ringing bells in unison at noon for 10 minutes every Friday to show compassion, to give voice to the voiceless, to stand against oppression and to set the prisoners free.

Church Council has endorsed plans by  SJMMT to ring our bell at these times on Friday 2nd, 9th and 16th November and again on 20th November. We have invited other churches in the area to join us in this action. We have also letterboxed the surrounding area to explain why our bell is ringing and invite residents to contact us if they have concerns.

Dot points to help you compose an email: 

  • With hundreds of men, women and children held on Manus and Nauru – including people with children, wives and partners in Australia – the NZ deal may not solve the problem. It may also compromise the fundamental rights of hundreds of people.
  • Medical authorities are calling it a humanitarian emergency which can be easily fixed by bringing children and their families detained on Nauru to safety in Australia.
  • Instead of ignoring the calls of 6000 doctors, invite your MP to join together with colleagues to develop a cross-party solution that ensures kids and their families are immediately transferred to Australia for medical and psychological assessment. 

Email addresses:

Member for Sturt: C.Pyne.mp@aph.gov.au
Member for Mayo: Rebekha.Sharkie.mp@aph.gov.au